Meet us

Group leader:

Professor Gail Taylor

Email: GTaylor@ucdavis.edu or G.Taylor@soton.ac.uk

Department chair in plant sciences at UC Davis and Professor of plant sciences at University of Southampton.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Current lab members:

Dr Rob Holland

Email: R.A.Holland@soton.ac.uk

Post Doctoral Research Fellow developing a global framework for quantifying the ecosystem service impacts of oil and biofuel production.

Base: University Of Southampton

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dr Suzanne Milner

Email: smilne@ucdavis.edu

Plant biology research technician working on various field, lab and modelling based projects (MAGLUE, WATBIO, Carbo-BioCrop, ELUM and general Taylorlab activity).

Base: University of California, Davis

 

 

 

 

Dr Annabelle Damerum

Email: Adamerum@ucdavis.edu

Post Doctoral reasearcher working towards understanding the biochemical and biophysical basis of shelf life in lettuce, providing underpinning tools for molecular breeding funded by Vitacress salads, Sainsbury’s and Shamrock Seeds.

Base: University of California, Davis

 

 

 

Libby Rowland

Email: L.S.Rowland@soton.ac.uk

PhD student working to improve the water sustainability and quality of potted herbs through better crop irrigation scheduling.

Base: University Of Southampton

 

 

 

Elizabeth Arnold

Email: E.C.Arnold@soton.ac.uk

PhD student – BBSRC. Working on improving the shelf-life of baby salad leaves.

Base: University Of Southampton – University of California, Davis

 

 

 

 

 

Jasmine Saban

Email: J.Saban@soton.ac.uk

PhD student – SPITFIRE DTP, Researching plant adaptation to elevated CO2 using a population genomics approach.

Base: University Of Southampton

 

 

 

 

 

Anna Page

Email: A.M.L.Page@soton.ac.uk

PhD student – Using aubergine domestication as a model for evolution, with a focus on NGS and population genetics.

Base: University Of Southampton

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kevin Staniland

Email: K.Staniland@soton.ac.uk

PhD student working on adaptations to elevated CO2 and the effects on photosynthesis.

Base: University Of Southampton

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Caspar Donnison

Email: C.Donnison@soton.ac.uk

PhD student working on the NERC-funded ‘ADVENT’ project, to investigate the natural capital implications of bioenergy policy in the UK, specifically a BECCS (Bioenergy with Carbon Capture and Storage) scenario.

Base: University Of Southampton – University of California, Davis

 

 

 

 

 

Sebastian Dunnett

Email: S.Dunnett@soton.ac.uk

PhD student and conservation scientist studying the impacts of energy scenarios on global biodiversity. Background in sustainability consultancy, with two years’ experience working at UNEP-WCMC in Cambridge.

Base: University Of Southampton

 

 

 

 

 

 

Felipe Becerra Sanchez

Email: F.Becerra-Sanchez@soton.ac.uk

Barfoots-funded PhD student working to understand the biological, chemical and physical nature of sweet corn post-harvest conditions.

Base: University of California, Davis – University of Southampton (field season)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yufei Qian

Email: yfqian@ucdavis.edu

Masters student working to improve nutrition of watercress.

Base: University of California, Davis